through the vines

through the vines
connecting my blood to infinity
i move so that i can water
your roots.
they reach out to me so…
each with its own strength, its own sound
its own breath, its own life
yet moving together as one.


i find you
where you are raw
not dark
but vulnerable
needing to be held
to feel safe
my breath, my attention
to your every need
your every call for touch
to be an open room
for you to pour your soul into.
you ask that of me
and i hear you.

your warmth has the power to soothe
and pierce me
to puncture the balloon
where i keep my secrets
can you feel it now?
as a bit seeps out
released in the air, to the open
to find its way
no longer trapped, no longer secret.


a veil between you and me
its thin yet it covers
that which we need to protect
until time opens its wings for our flight.

© r.e.l. 4/7/10

inspired by an embodied meditation at CIIS

Featured on Touched By Fire on redbubble


2 thoughts on “through the vines

  1. Pingback: Touched by Fire features (week of December 26, 2010) « touched·by·fire

Leave a comment