the way your roots reach into me

empower me to empower you
you know, the way your roots reach into me
like feathers on a journey
to find themselves

find me where you would not
think to imagine
remember i’m an enigma
i’m a mystery that floats in
the shadows,
t h e   u n k n o w n

and sometimes, it’s strange
but i can feel the moments
when a secret begins…

© r.e.l. 2/16/11

submitted to caesura 2/5/14

written for Thursdays Poet Rally week 38 (feb 17-23, 2011)

image of Feather of male peacock (Indian peafowl), Wikimedia Commons

featured on Vibration in Art and Verse – VAVoom! on redbubble

submitted to World Poetry Movement  (Published! — for book Stars In Our Hearts)

44 thoughts on “the way your roots reach into me

  1. I was going to say that I loved every image in this poem…but they are not really images are they?
    So…
    I am haunted by every thought in this poem, so wonderfully strung together.

    Thank you for sharing this poem.

  2. Nice touch, I could tell this peacock feather affected you in your dream. It certainly fits what it means as far as symbolism in a dream; spring, many eyes watching, confidence… Great work translating this to a poem! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment